Deadline extension - Like&Win competition for free tickets for EFFoST2020


Cargill is pleased to offer 40 tickets to students from low-income and lower-middle-income countries to attend EFFoST2020. All you need to do to be in the running for one of these free all-access registration is like to us on social media and fill in an application form.

We are pleased to announce that our partner, Cargill, would like to support 40 students who are a citizen of and studying in a ‘low-income economy’ or ‘lower-middle-income economy’ country according to the World Bank categorization* to attend the 34th EFFoST International Conference. Grants will cover the cost of registration. 

For the first time, the EFFoST International Conference will be held online. This will allow academics, food professionals and students to attend EFFoST2020 from the comfort and safety of their homes. This online format removes geographic boundaries, allowing our European conference to be accessed anywhere in the world. We are especially excited that students from low-income countries can join world-renowned researchers, scientists and policymakers and professionals to share the latest developments from multidisciplinary food-related fields. 

Prize description
The Winners will gain access to the full EFFoST2020 Online Conference that will be held 10-12 November 2020. They will receive one ‘Full Conference – Live and On demand’ registration, which will allow them to:

  • Attend the full EFFoST2020 conference, this includes the Live Plenary event on 10 November and the Parallel sessions and Poster presentations on 11 and 12 November.
  • Engage with plenary and oral speakers, poster presenters and delegates using the chat, Q&A, polls and networking functions on the conference platform.
  • Access the recordings of the full conference, including recordings of the Plenary event, Parallel sessions, and Poster presentations for the duration of 30 days (1 day after the conference)

The student registration fee for the ‘Full Conference – Live and On demand’ package is valued at €99.

MSc and PhD students of food science, food technology or related studies with a current enrolment at universities located in low-income and lower-middle-income countries* (according to the categories defined by the World Bank), can apply.

Apply by
Step 1: like both @EFFoST and @Cargill on social media. You can find us on either Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn. 
Step 2: fill in the entry form and include a copy of your current student card or proof of registration before 25 October 2020.

This competition to win one of the 40 free registrations for the EFFoST2020 Online Conference is open to students enrolled in MSc or PhD programmes at universities located in low-income and lower-middle-income countries* according to the categories defined by the World Bank. Students need to be enrolled for the academic year 2020-2021. Students must be enrolled in a degree programme in food science and technology or similar. Part-time students can also apply.

Each student can only participate once in this competition.

All contestants will be given a number based on entry date and the winners will be selected through a blind draw on Monday 26 October 2020. The winners will be contacted by 29 October at the latest.

If you have any questions, please contact us at

* Students from a university or college in the following countries: Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Dem. Rep, Congo, Rep., Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Arab Rep., El Salvador, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, India, Kenya, Kiribati,  Dem. People's Rep. Korea, Kyrgyz Republic, Lao PDR, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Micronesia Fed. Sts., Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Rwanda, São Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, West Bank and Gaza, Yemen, Rep., Zambia, Zimbabwe.