EFFoST Lifetime Achievement Award 2017


During the 31st EFFoST International Conference on November 16, Dr. Heribert Watzke received 'The Lifetime Achievement Award' from EFFoST for his outstanding achievements for the domain of food science and technology.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest scientific recognition given by EFFoST. Achievement of candidates to be considered include: leadership, pioneering efforts, initiative and vision, interdisciplinarity, inventiveness, enhancing food science and effectiveness in promoting consumer understanding of Food Science and Technology.

Heribert Watzke combines all these abilities and achievements. Heribert received his PhD in Chemistry at the University of Graz, Austria, held post doc positions in Canada and the USA as well as a research and teaching position at the ETH Zurich, focusing on nano-collodial interactions and nano-composite materials. He was asked to build a Food Structure and Material Science group at Nestle Research Centre in Lausanne by the director of the centre and was the head of the Food science and Technology Department for almost 10 years guiding and leading 150 inter-disciplinary scientists. During his tenure an high ranking international academic review team  concludes that this Department was the worlds prime  food research institution at that time.

Heribert was and is not only an highly creative and inspiring leader and mentor of early career scientists he was also instrumental in developing the  food processing Research Agenda for The European Technology Platform Food for Life 2007-2020. His subsequent positions included Senior Group Expert for the CTO of Nestle and Assistant Vice President. Recently he has established his own consulting company.

Besides being a pioneer in material and nano science as well as on the impact of thermal processing (cooking) on human development, Heribert has helped significantly to transfer science to the consumer ("bio-guided processing"). In summary Dr. Heribert Watzke is a most worthy winner of the 2017 EFFoST Lifetime Achievement Award